My Speedy Paleo Pad Thai

I used to cook Pad Thai a lot before going Paleo. I had a really quick recipe from eMeals (when I had a subscription!) that included fish sauce, sesame oil and brown sugar as a quick sauce.

This version uses courgettes (zucchini) noodles. These were made with this Spiralizer (although admittedly I’ve just treated myself to this one as it’s getting a bit worn). If you’re feeling patient, you can instead try to slice your zucchini thinly, or even use a vegetable peeler to try to get the same effect.

Ingredients

Serves 2

2-4 zucchini / courgettes (depends on size), spiralized/made into noodles

300g raw prawns (de-veined, etc)

3 spring onions, sliced

2 tablespoons of fish sauce

1-2 tablespoons of agave nectar (to taste)

1 tablespoons of lime juice

1 large egg, lightly whisked

oil for cooking (whichever you prefer – coconut adds a nice taste)

lime wedges and chopped almonds, to serve

optional: coriander (for the authentic Pad Thai taste – I’m afraid I’m not a fan!)

 

 

Directions

1. Heat oil in a pan over a medium heat, add the spring onions. Fry for 2 minutes then add the prawns and fry until just pink.

photo 1

2. Mix up the sauce in a separate bowl – fish sauce, lime juice and then agave nectar to taste. Add this to the pan and heat for 2 minutes until some of the liquid has evaporated.

photo 2

3. Add the egg and scramble.

photo 3

4. Add the zucchini noodles and continue to heat for 2-3 minutes until just softened.

photo 4

5. Serve with almonds and lime wedges (and coriander, if using)

 photo

 

Let me know what you think if you try this out!